PWD Index Mo 2015-05 (May)

SymptomPrspctvs 20150602a 2in300ppi

Link Index for this month’s Newsletter,  gathering April & May 2015 material from over 60 different persons, with a total of over 70 different links, published Wednesday, June 3, 2015.  Missed April links due to other focus during that month.

Below is the index for May entries in the newly re-titled “Symptom Perspectives” newsletter.  Since there has recently been hot debate about who has the right to call themselves “PWD” (Persons With Dementia); in what level of diagnosis is necessary to wear this label, and how often patient must be re-examined in order to retain the label  — and ALSO Medical vocabulary changes — I am beginning to eliminate the “PWD” label from by own vocabulary.  So now newsletter title reads

“Symptom Perspectives”;
See life “Thru the Looking Glass” of our dementia SYMPTOMS. Apply resource of lived experiences, & watch your own PWD relationships blossom as result.
Includes projects from Dementia & MCI patients.

Hoping these changes of terminology will minimize misunderstandings and maximize participation.

Story Agnes Houston Battle to be Dementia Friendly http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-32930233
Proj Agnes Houston Proj/AudioDiary: I’m Frightened http://dementia.onourradar.org/2015/04/01/i-think-i-had-a-kind-of-insight-then-that-my-memory-and-my-dementia-symptoms-were-getting-worse-and-im-frightened-in-fact-im-quite-tearful
Story Alexandra Boothby Awareness Month http://livingwithpassion90.blogspot.com/2015/05/huntingtons-disease-awareness-month.html
Proj Amy Shives Speech 2015 Alz forum https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6_vgEjpFTwc
Proj Anne MacDonald Proj/audioDiary: Self-Managing = ? http://dementia.onourradar.org/2015/05/06/self-managing-what-does-it-actually-mean
Story Barry Pankhurst New Bakery Book Intro http://www.facesofdementia.co.uk/332251473
Proj Bob O’Donnell Proj: audio/vid blog http://ftda.cs.unh.edu/journey%20with%20dementia.html
Story Brian LeBlanc Day in the Life http://abitofbriansbrilliance.com/2015/05/24/a-day-in-the-life/
Proj Brian LeBlanc Proj: Alzheimers Poem http://abitofbriansbrilliance.com/2015/04/26/an-alzheimers-poem-2/
Proj Cate Lau Proj/intrvw: Before It’s Too Late http://www.foxillinois.com/news/features/top-stories/stories/living-alzheimers-woman-shares-her-story-before-its-too-late-3162.shtml
Proj Cecil Ristow Proj: PCA Presentation https://truthfulkindness.com/index-persons-with-dementia-pwd/cecil-ristow/may-2015/
Proj Charee Deems Tillotson Proj/vid: This is My Voice http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/maureenmatthews
Proj Chris Forse Proj/audioDiary: Tibbs http://dementia.onourradar.org/2015/03/17/tibbs-is-a-fabulous-organisation-making-local-people-sit-up-and-take-notice
Proj Chris Graham Proj/funding: Endurance Challenge http://www.alzheimersresearchuk.org/alzheimers-at-39-chris-story/
Proj Chris Norris Proj/audioDiary: Pos Reinforcement http://dementia.onourradar.org/2015/05/01/it-is-very-important-to-let-people-know-when-they-have-done-a-good-job
Story Chris Roberts Making Memories https://dementiacarervoices.wordpress.com/2015/05/18/making-memories-by-chris-roberts/
Proj Chris Roberts Proj/ vid intrvw: Traveling https://vimeo.com/122245380
Proj Christine Bryden Proj/intrvw: Young Dementia http://www.youngdementiauk.org/christines-story
Proj Christine Bryden Before I Forget http://www.christinebryden.com/books/book-before-i-forget/
Proj Christopher Devas Proj/intrvw: Month in Life https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zJObR8TqBIM
Story Cindy Stolz-Odell Feeling Useless http://www.ftdnoflowers.blogspot.com/2015/05/feeling-useless.html
Story Daryl Lees Solar Eclipse https://daryl2510.wordpress.com/2015/03/21/solar-eclipse-in-the-uk/
Story David Hilfiker A Name to be Real http://www.agingcare.com/Articles/why-dementia-doesnt-need-a-name-to-be-real-163331.htm
Story David Kramer Excerpts from FaceBook https://truthfulkindness.com/index-persons-with-dementia-pwd/david-kramer/may-2015/
Proj David Kramer Proj/intrvw: Becoming a Volunteer https://vimeo.com/126738516
Story Gary Bricker My Story with Alz http://www.usagainstalzheimersnetwork.org/stories/7280
Story George Rook My Poor Family https://georgerook51.wordpress.com/2015/05/29/oh-dear-my-poor-family/
Story Gill HS Green First Week in New Home http://gillhaygreen.com/2015/04/25/my-first-week-in-my-new-home/
Proj Gina Shaw Proj/audioDiary: Waking Early http://dementia.onourradar.org/2015/05/18/its-common-for-people-with-alzheimers-to-wake-up-very-early
Proj Greg O’Brien Proj/intrvw: Hallucinations http://www.npr.org/sections/health-shots/2015/05/30/408781343/seeing-what-isnt-there-inside-alzheimers-hallucinations?utm_medium=RSS&utm_campaign=us
Story Harry Urban Blog Excerpts from May https://truthfulkindness.com/index-persons-with-dementia-pwd/harry-urban/may-2015/
Story Helga Rohra News Update http://helgarohra.com/NEWS/Artikel/
Proj Helga Rohra Proj/Speech: ADI 2015 Conference https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H_nD5G69b74
Story Janet Pitts Geneva Conference https://truthfulkindness.com/index-persons-with-dementia-pwd/janet-pitts/may-2015/
Story Jennifer Bute When Living Alone http://www.youngdementiauk.org/strategies-coping-when-living-alone
Proj Jo Bennett Proj/audioDiary: Hate this Disease http://dementia.onourradar.org/2015/04/01/i-hate-this-disease-but-ive-got-it-i-have-to-get-on-with-it
Story Joe Potocny In Memory Of http://living-with-alzhiemers.blogspot.com/2015/04/in-memory-of.html
Story John Quinn Slow is the New Fast https://iamlivingwellwithdementia.wordpress.com/2015/05/02/slow-is-the-new-fast-be-kind-to-yourself-if-its-the-best-that-you-can-do/
Proj Karen Francis Proj/Success Stories https://truthfulkindness.com/dementia-success-stories/karen-francis/
Proj Kathleen Anduze Proj/Success Stories https://truthfulkindness.com/dementia-success-stories/kathleen-anduze/
Story Keith E. Oliver Leaving Work http://www.youngdementiauk.org/keith-leaving-work
Story Ken Clasper Recognition for MCI http://ken-kenc2.blogspot.com.au/2015/05/recognition-for-mild-cognitive.html
Story Ken Howard Ken’s Story http://www.youngdementiauk.org/ken-hs-story
Proj Kevin E. Smiley Proj/re-purposing: Aviary https://truthfulkindness.com/index-persons-with-dementia-pwd/kevin-smiley/may-2015/
Story Kevin E. Smiley Excerpts from FaceBook https://truthfulkindness.com/index-persons-with-dementia-pwd/kevin-smiley/april-may-2015b/
Story Kris Bakowski Another Year http://creatingmemories.blogspot.com/2015/01/another-year.html
Proj Lauren U Proj/intrvw: Hospitals & Dementia https://vimeo.com/128077804
Story Laurie Scherrer Trip Turmoil Tip 1 http://dementiadaze.com/2015/04/11/lets-go-away-trip-turmoil-tip-1/
Proj Laurie Scherrer Proj/intrvw: Education Children https://vimeo.com/125396363
Story Mary Read God Blessed Me http://www.usagainstalzheimersnetwork.org/stories/6316
Proj Max McCormick Proj/Garden: Fairy Garden https://truthfulkindness.com/index-persons-with-dementia-pwd/max-mccormick/may-2015/
Story Melanie Wagner Day as a PWD https://mwagner21.wordpress.com/2015/04/04/a-day-as-a-pwd/
Proj Melvyn Brooks Proj/audioDiary: Only Way http://dementia.onourradar.org/2015/05/20/this-is-the-only-way-for-me-just-to-get-out-there-and-be-read-about-and-listened-to
Story Mick Carmody My Day of Whinges http://carmodym59.com/2015/05/18/my-day-of-whinges/
Story Norman Mc Namara Living with Dementia http://www.independentliving.co.uk/guest-blog/living-with-dementia/
Proj Norman Mc Namara Proj/intrvw: Bldg Better Bridges https://vimeo.com/123556186
Story Paul Hitchmough AudioDiary: To Write Music http://dementia.onourradar.org/2015/03/04/since-i-got-diagnosed-i-feel-more-on-the-edge-to-write-music
Proj Paul Hitchmough Proj/Music: The Same Man https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sTQzcj9gj9g
Proj Paulan Gordon Proj/intrvw: Un-censored Voice https://alzheimersspeaks.wordpress.com/2015/05/12/the-recording-of-todays-dementia-chats-may-12th-2015/
Story Rick Phelps Bad Days http://phelps2645.blogspot.com/2015/04/bad-days.html
Story Robert Bowles Astounding Lewy http://lbdlivingbeyonddiagnosis.com/2/post/2015/04/astounding-lewy.html
Proj Robert Bowles Proj/intrvw: Lewy Body Dementia https://vimeo.com/128728139
Story Robert Wright It’s Been a While https://findingtwenty.wordpress.com/2015/04/07/finding-twenty-its-been-a-while/
Story Roxanne Varey Midnight Maid https://uwaterloo.ca/murray-alzheimer-research-and-education-program/blog/post/midnight-maid
Story Russell Scott I Am Not the Same http://rustyhiggins2014.com/2015/04/04/i-am-not-the-same/
Proj Sandy Halperin Proj/intrvw: Change Lives https://grandcare.wordpress.com/2015/05/20/how-one-mans-journey-with-dementia-will-change-lives/
Story Silverfox Colonoscopy http://parkblog-silverfox.blogspot.com/2015/05/colonoscopy.html
Proj Steve Ponath Proj/intrvw: Aware, Friendly & Hlth https://alzheimersspeaks.wordpress.com/2015/04/29/here-is-the-recorded-dementia-chats-from-today/
Proj Susan Suchan Proj/Success Stories https://truthfulkindness.com/dementia-success-stories/susan-usa-ok/
Proj Teresa Webb Proj/film: This is My Voice http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/maureenmatthews
Proj Tommy Dunne Proj/intrvw: Dem-Friendly Checkout http://pippakelly.co.uk/2015/05/ringing-up-two-for-one-success-stories-in-dementia-awareness-week/
Story Tommy Dunne People We Never See http://dementia.onourradar.org/2015/04/01/people-we-never-see-from-one-end-of-the-year-to-the-other-suddenly-turn-up-in-gangs-and-start-fussing-over-us
Story Truthful Kindness Letter of Thanks https://truthfulkindness.com/2015/04/27/letter-of-thanks/
Proj Truthful Kindness Proj/Speech: ADI 2015 Conference http://youtu.be/_N0kqZVgWiI
Story Valerie Blumenthal Fearless https://wisewordslostforwords.wordpress.com/2015/04/28/fearless/
Story Wendy7713 Noise vs Silence https://whichmeamitoday.wordpress.com/2015/05/28/noise-v-silence/
Story Wendy Mitchell Getting Diagnoses & Connected https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JauhJAaH3iE#t=14

:

* Admin issues: SHARE dementia awareness thru buttons below. Feel free to leave your thoughts in the form of comments, but please filter your comments with truthful loving kindness to all concerned. If interested in receiving notice of future blog postings, subscriptions are available through a “follow” button in the upper left corner (MS Explorer) or lower right (Safari, Mozilla Firefox and Chrome). If there is an advertisement below, I have no control over what is shown.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: