Dementia Memory Links

.Tru here.

By middle-stages, Memory and Recognition are huge issues with most types of dementia.
These are my favorite Links on those things.
Thanks to Barry Pankhurst, George Huba PhD, Janice Crich, Paulan Gordon, retired doctor Jennifer Bute, Jim Pfefferkorn, Michelle Montgomery, Paul Hitchmough, Peter Berry, Shelagh Robinson, Susan Suchan, Tommy Dunne, Wendy Mitchell and teacher Teepa Snow (who does not have dementia).

.

Listed Links on MEMORY first, then RECOGNIZING family and friends in the next section.

!!  Remember, Links are on colored text, not the pictures  !!

Right-click on colored text and selecting “open in new tab”,
will allow you to return to this tab easily (at top of window) when you finish.  These are in Alpha Order.
Remember, Links are on colored text, NOT the pictures.

.

Memory:

Asking to go Home by Truthful Kindness at https://truthfulkindness.com/2021/03/07/to-go-home/ ;

BookCases illustration in 5-min vid with Wendy Mitchell at https://youtu.be/8Nna8ZWr720 ;

Calendaring 2-min vid by retired Dr Jennifer Bute at https://vimeo.com/134314802 ;

Contact List by Janice Crich at https://truthfulkindness.com/index-persons-with-dementia-pwd/janice-crich/names-numbers/ ;

Diary by Barry Pankhurst at https://vimeo.com/93036956 ;

“Draw it” by George Huba PhD at https://hubaisms.com/2018/07/16/to-remember-it/ ;

“Feelings are Memories” by Susan Suchan at https://susansuchan.wordpress.com/2016/12/14/my-feelings-are-my-memories/ ;

Forgetting i have Memory Problems by Truthful Kindness at https://truthfulkindness.com/2017/06/01/hallucinations-forgetting/ ;

“Hole in my Memory” 2-min audio with Tommy Dunne and Paul Hitchmough at https://dementiadiaries.org/entry/11528/tommy-and-paul-use-song-to-investigate-a-hole ;

Journaling by Paulan Gordon at https://vimeo.com/106073592 ;

LifeBook by retired Dr Jennifer Bute at https://vimeo.com/281260326 ;

“Memory Apps & Lighting” project with Tommy Dunne at https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-merseyside-29642804 ;

Memory Challenges in 7-min vid by Peter Berry at https://youtu.be/CMg8vhY0Sf8 ;

“Memory Poem” by Wendy Mitchell at http://whichmeamitoday.wordpress.com/2014/12/05/memory-poem/ ;

“Music Memories” by Jim Pfefferkorn at https://truthfulkindness.com/index-persons-with-dementia-pwd/jim-pfefferkorn/july-2015/ ;

Preparing with Song by Michelle Montgomery at https://truthfulkindness.com/index-persons-with-dementia-pwd/michelle-montgomery/preparing-with-song/ ;

Repeat Questions by Truthful Kindness at https://truthfulkindness.com/2021/02/21/repeat-questions/ ;

Thinking Aloud by Truthful Kindness at https://truthfulkindness.com/2020/02/24/thinking-aloud-short-term-memory/ ;

“When your Memory lets you down” by Wendy Mitchell at https://whichmeamitoday.wordpress.com/2016/01/07/when-your-memory-lets-you-down/ ;

Write Things Down by Paulan Gordon at https://vimeo.com/96763672 ;

not PLwD: “Accusations” by Valerie Feurich (with Teepa Snow project) at https://teepasnow.com/blog/how-to-respond-to-unfounded-accusations-when-dementia-is-involved/ ;

not PLwD: “Where is Joe” by Psychologist Amanda Mullen (with Teepa Snow project) at https://teepasnow.com/blog/where-is-joe-vital-tools-for-coping-with-sundowning/ ;

not PLwD: 15-min Radio show by Teepa Snow at https://youtu.be/z13LeCCtbQQ ;

v interestg Link at https://nautil.us/blog/memories-can-be-injected-and-survive-amputation-and-metamorphosis ;

.

RECOGNIZING Family and Friends

Are YOU my husband? by Truthful Kindness at https://truthfulkindness.com/2016/08/09/are-you-my-husband/ ;

Context of Appearance by Truthful Kindness at https://truthfulkindness.com/2019/05/27/context-appearance/ ;

“How could i Forget YOU?” by Shelagh Robinson at https://fizzyhammers.com/2018/03/24/how-could-i-forget-you/ ;

“Recognizing Visitors” section by Truthful Kindness athttps://truthfulkindness.com/2021/04/11/about-visits/ ;

not PLwD:  “Dementia Reality” 45-min vid by Teepa Snow with “Being Patient” (re not recognizing family) at https://youtu.be/EOCZInnLQd0 ;

.

(also see categories for “conversation”, “writing/reading”, and “non-verbal communication”) at https://truthfulkindness.com/about/d-info/links-sx-strategies/ .

Tags: alzheimers, dementia, facial, family, memory, person with dementia, PLwD, recognition, recognizing, relationship, reminders .

..

 

%d bloggers like this: